Words written in Israel and Occupied Palestinian Territories

Day 16: Recovery Level Up

Today was one of those days that I won’t ever forget. Not because of the class material (though it was awesome), but because of the sights and how I went out on a limb (no pun intended) to experience them fully.

I have some chronic health conditions that can make it difficult for me to do everyday activities, let alone the more daring ones that can fill an adventurous trip like this. I spent much of 2016 out for the count, after a multi-year struggle became too hard to handle without getting more help. I’ve been doing well as of the summer, but it’s always up in the air, and I didn’t realize quite how physically strenuous the day would be when my classmates and I first set out for it. Part of me would have loved a little bit more warning, but part of me knows that it was a blessing to be able to be surprised (for better and, at moments, for worse) by just how special and full the day was: An ancient set of ruins where John the Baptist might have hung out and scribes might have worked, 2 hikes at very different spots, and sunset at the Dead Sea.

img_7491

I’m almost certain to wake up exhausted and in more pain than usual tomorrow, but look at the adventures I got to have today because I’m going to let them speak for themselves.

Qumran

16-116-2

En Gedi16-316-4

Masada (the most intense hike I’ve done since being diagnosed with chronic illnesses – it’s pretty much just stories straight up! I was so proud of myself for doing this that I had to get a picture, even just when I was halfway up, of myself being triumphant.) 16-5img_961616-7

Dead Sea16-816-9

“He makes springs pour water into the ravines; it flows between the mountains. They give water to all the beasts of the field; the wild donkeys quench their thirst. The birds of the sky nest by the waters; they sing among the branches. He waters the mountains from his upper chambers; the land is satisfied by the fruit of his work… How many are your works, LORD! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures. There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number – living things both large and small.”

– Psalm 104:10-13, 24-25 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

